top of page
  • Writer's picturegiadasplate

Pillowy Rhubarb Tear & Share Pastries

I could not help myself and bought more rhubarb. The initial idea was to make a rhubarb tart and I had already picked out my recipe, but last minute I decided I was after something more doughy, instead.

I have been going a bit rhubarb - crazy in the last few weeks and have been trying out different ways of using it. I have made some lovely Rhubarb & Gin jam and then decided to use some of it for these tear & share, brioche-style pastries. To be perfectly honest, I was wanting to shape these into individual buns to start with - however it seems the amount of filling I went for was...well a bit too generous. So plan B was fielded and I decided to prove the individual rolls together into a tear & share shape. Better for sharing. If you intend to, that is.

Yields one round springform tin (11 inch diameter)


Ingredients:

- 100g of butter (or dairy free substitute)

- 180ml of lukewarm milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)

- 10g of dry instant yeast

- 10g of baking powder

- 100g of icing sugar

- 10g of table salt

- 2 large eggs

- 500g of plain flour

- 300g of rhubarb

- 4tbsp of jam (I used my homemade rhubarb & gin jam which you can find here)

- a drizzle of lemon juice

- 1tbsp of maple syrup

- 1tbsp of granulate sugar


Method:


Melt the butter in a saucepan and add the lukewarm milk. Add the yeast and baking powder; combine well, cover and set aside for 10 mins or until cool.

Add the eggs and stir in well.


In a separate bowl, combine the flour, the icing sugar and the salt.


Combine the dry ingredients into the wet ones and mix well until fully combined. A dough should form at this stage.


Knead the dough in the bowl for about 10 mins. Cover with clingfilm and leave for 1-2 hours to prove. A slightly warmer environment will aid the rise - if you have a proving drawer you can use this.


In the meantime, pre-heat the oven to 200C. Cut the rhubarb into small pieces (1.5cm in width). Place on a tray, drizzle with lemon juice, maple syrup and sugar.

Once the over is hot place the rhubarb in the oven on a medium shelf to roast for 20 mins.


Once the dough has proved, tip once a clean and slightly floured surface and gently knead for 3-5 mins. Roll the dough out in a rectangular shape. Spread the jam filling onto the dough, leaving a 1/1.5cm gap at one of the long ends to assist with sealing the rolls. Sprinkle the roasted rhubarb evenly on the dough. Starting from the long side with filling, roll up the dough into a log shape - roll quite tightly and be prepared for some of the filling to ooze out. TIP: I always find that using parchment paper helps me rolling, especially if I have a lot of filling. I roll out my rectangle on the parchment paper and then use the paper to lift & roll the dough.


Using some string or dental floss (to avoid squashing the rolls) cut the log into individual rolls. You can check out how to do this by watching this really quick clip.

Line your cooking vessel (a round cake tin in my case) with baking paper. Place the rolls into the desired pattern. In my case I had to squash them a bit so they lost the spiral - this was to try and fit them all in the one tin; however if you want to keep the nice roll, I would suggest to calculate 2 or more tins, depending on the size.


Cover the tin with clingfilm and place to prove for further 30-45min in a warm environment. Pre-heat the oven to 175C. Once the rolls are proved, remove the clingfilm and bake in the oven for 18-21 mins depending on your oven.


Chill before serving to avoid burning yourself with lava hot jam.


Buon appetito!



If you end up giving this recipe a go, I would love to see a snap of it. Simply tag @giadasplate on Instagram or send me a DM.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page