top of page
  • Writer's picturegiadasplate

Easy peasy homemade Pesto

With springtime fully unfurling, I have started to naturally increment my use of fresh herbs in everything that I cook. My much beloved kitchen top plants are finally thriving and this inspires me to do more with them whilst they are at their very best. Some of my favourite herbs include rosemary and thyme - however basil will always hold a special place in my heart.

When I was growing up, my Mum always kept one or more pots of basil on the sunny balcony - very often I would be asked to help watering it and I can still so clearly remember the amazing fragrance that used to fill my nostrils. Now I keep my own basil plant on my window sill and I can't resist the temptation to add it to tomato salads, pizza & sauces. One of the most iconic (and easy!) things to do if you have a basil surplus is Pesto. Pesto is the shorter name for Pesto alla Genovese , which is synonym with the costal city of Genoa (Genova), where the recipe of this basil-based sauce was first recorded. The word pesto derives from the verb pestare which means to crush or to squash - this is reference to the fact that pesto is traditionally made with pestle and mortar.


Traditionally, Pesto is made using garlic and pine nuts - you can easily make it without both or either these ingredients. I have made traditional pesto here, but I do generally prefer it without garlic, as I find it otherwise difficult to digest.


Ingredients:

- 2 bunches of fresh basil

- 3 tbsp of pine nuts

- 2 cloves of garlic

- 4 tbsp of olive oil + extra for regulating the consistency at the end

- 4 tbsp of grated Parmesan cheese (better even: use 50-50 Pecorino and Parmesan cheese)

- pinch of salt

- OPTIONAL: a splash of water


Method:


As my pestle and mortar is rather small, I have opted for making my pesto in a blender instead. This is why my pesto looks very smooth and does not have all of the floating bits you normally see in a store-bought jar. If you prefer a more bitty pesto, I would suggest to use the traditional pestle and mortar method.


Start by adding the basil, the garlic, the pine nuts and the olive oil to the blender. Blend the ingredients together - add a pinch of salt halfway through. If your blender is struggling or the compound is too solid, add a splash of water or a little extra oil. Once the ingredients are almost fully blended, add the Parmesan cheese. Continue blending until smooth.


Once the compound has the desired consistency, remove from the blender and adjust with olive oil to dilute it. You can also use a mix of water and oil if you don't like your pesto too greasy (I personally like quite a bit of olive oil). It is important to taste as you do this as olive oil will mellow the occasionally biter taste of raw garlic.


Store your pesto in the fridge.



Some extra tips

Pasta isn't necessarily the only option for using your freshly made pesto! Here are some other ways (all tried and tested!) in which you can enjoy pesto:


  • Add it to a salad dressing

  • Try it over some mozzarella

  • Try it over pizza

  • Spread over sourdough toast and soft cheese

  • Combine with some puff pastry for some easy party snacks! (Watch out for some exciting party favourites in the next post!)


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page