top of page
  • Writer's picturegiadasplate

Cookbook of the month: 'Persiana'

With my passion for food and cooking, it has become a staple at every birthday or celebration that I get gifted a new cookbook. My cookbook shelf is slowing overflowing, but there's just now way I will part ways with my wonderful books. I have however decided to monthly review one of my favourites and you might recognise a few dishes if you have been a guest at our house before!


I thought I would kick things off with one of my absolute top favourite cooking books: Persiana by the wonderfully talented Sabrina Ghayour.

I had been wanting this cookbook for YEARS as it used to be a stable book in the house where I used to work as a childminder, during my uni days. Melissa, mum of the house, often had the book open on top of the kitchen counter whenever she was making a special dinner or was cooking for friends. I still remember glancing over the Pomegranate Tabouleh Cups recipe and wishing I was staying for dinner.


I was delighted when Michael eventually gifted me the book and it's since collected a good amount of dog ears and splatter stains - sorry, I like my books lived in!


Persiana has truly become a crucial book if I am entertaining - I often combine different recipes from this and Ghayour's other book Feasts. One of the things I like the most about Ghayour's style is how dishes which might appear intimidating, are actually unraveled in very easy-to-follow processes and the ingredients' list is very reasonable in length. She draws inspirations from different Middle-Eastern cuisines and creates flavour combinations which are unique to her.

Some of my favourite dishes from Persiana are:


  • Yogurt, Cucumber and Mint Maast O Khiar - a wonderfully refreshing dip, perfect for sharing with some

  • Eastern Style Focaccia or Persian Flatbread

  • Rice with Lentils and Crispy Onions Mojardara - the combination of rice and lentils was certainly a revelation to me and I would be happy with a plate of this with no proteins or veggie

  • Chicken, Walnut and Pomegranate Stew Khoresh-e-Fesenjan

  • Spice Salted Squid - it's addictive as a snack!

  • Spiced Beef and Potato Cakes Kotlet



It pains me to admit it, but I haven't actually got around to testing the book's Dessert & sweet treats section! I partially blame the weather in Scotland which doesn't quite seem right for the spread of wonderfully refreshing and summery desserts from Persiana. I am however entertaining the idea to test Ghayour's Baklava recipe for the next lot of friends who come to visit - I will then finally get a chance to tick off all of the sections of this wonderful cooking book.



You can find Sabrina's list of published books here

16 views
bottom of page