top of page
  • Writer's picturegiadasplate

Cinnamon & vanilla French toast

Sundays are made for breakfast in bed and SLOOOOW coffee sipping. I got up long enough to make this lovely & fluffy French toast and then back to my comfy duvet.

French toast is truly a treat in our home as it is not something we get around making very often. I have had issues in the past with the consistency of my egg mixture and my soaking level so I have steered clear of French toast for a little while.

But I have finally found my perfect ratio and am so happy with the result. Almost as happy as our puppy who got to have some leftover mashed frozen banana for his teething gums!


Yields 4 French toast slices

Ingredients:

- 4 slices of bread (I used Multi-seeds soft wholemeal farmhouse)

- 2 eggs

- 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

- 1 and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

- 60 ml of almond milk

- some coconut oil to lightly grease the pan



Method:


In a bowl whisk the eggs with the vanilla extract and the cinnamon. Add the milk to the mixture.


Lightly toast your bread so it holds its shape better. If you have large slices you can also cut them in smaller pieces like I have done to assist with the soaking.


Place a frying pan on a medium heat and lightly grease it. Soak the bread in the egg mixture turning so that the slice is fully coated - the secret here is timing: you need to soak enough so that you don't have any dry bread, but over soaking will make your bread fall apart.

Place in the hot pan and cook turning halfway through with a spatula.


Serve warm with some fruit and a drizzle of honey. I added some flake almonds for crunch.



Some extra tips


I am a coffee person - especially in the morning! However, I decided to treat myself to @mariannas_pantry honey & vanilla chai latte to go along with these delicious French toast.


Did not manage to get my foam, but delicious anyway!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page